Books Like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

11 Books Like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Books Like Gone Girl by Gillian FlynnSince the popularity of the book-turned-movie, it seems that everyone is looking for books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

And why not? Flynn’s dark writing style, combined with her shocking twists, is more than captivating.

Below you’ll find a list of 11 books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, most of which share Flynn’s dark writing style or her ability to craft surprising twists. Some of the books share both!

As all fans know, Flynn’s combination of talent and surprise leaves the reader always wanting more. The 11 books below will help satisfy your craving for more books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

 

 If you want more Gillian Flynn, consider trying Sharp Objects or Dark Places


A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

 A Simple Favor: A Novel

&

The world of single mother Stephanie is turned upside down when her best mom friend, Emily, vanishes into thin air. To make matters worse, Stephanie was caring for Emily’s son when his mother disappeared.

Things go from bad to worse when Emily is found dead, and it doesn’t take long for Stephanie to realize that the friendship wasn’t exactly as it seemed.

In the vein of Gone Girl, A Simple Favor is a psychological thriller filled with twists, turns, betrayals and lies. This one will keep you up at night.


Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

 Luckiest Girl Alive: A Novel

&

Just when Ani thought she had escaped the secrets of her past, life starts to catch up with her.

Throughout her life, Ani FaNelli has worked hard to forget her past and recreate her image so that she can have the perfect future. In fact, Ani is on the cusp of achieving everything she’s ever dreamed of: She has the perfect, blue-blood fiancé, an impressive job in New York City, and an image she has worked extremely hard to cultivate.

Yet, in her hometown, Ani is infamous for reasons she’d rather forget. As her wedding nears—and so too the opportunity to cement herself as a member of the social-elite—Ani is confronted with her past in ways she’d rather not acknowledge.

Luckiest Girl Alive is fast-paced and dark, and it’s the perfect followup book to Gone Girl. Here’s a full review of Luckiest Girl Alive.


The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

 The Cutaway: A Thriller

&

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac is billed in its description as a psychological thriller written in the vein of Gone Girl.

In this particular story, an up-and-coming television producer receives a missing notice regarding a local power attorney. Despite advice from her colleagues, the television producers chooses to follow a hunch about the attorney’s whereabouts. The producer quickly discovers that she’s in over her head with something far more sinister than she originally thought.


Dare Me by Megan Abbott

 Dare Me

&

Dare Me by Megan Abbott takes the bright and peppy world of cheerleading and ties it together with a dark and twisted plot that even the most critical readers will enjoy. This particular story follows best friends Addy and Beth as they adjust to life on the cheerleading squad with a new coach.

Life has completely changed with their new coach, who is in her 20s and lives a lifestyle just barely out of reach for the high school seniors. Addy and the other girls on the squad quickly become infatuated with coach, but as they get to know her better, the girls realize that perhaps coach has something to hide. Only Beth, the manipulative queen bee, saw coach for what she was.

Now, Beth holds all the power.

Find a full review of Dare Me by Megan Abbott here.


The Girl Before by JP Delaney

 The Girl Before: A Novel

&

The Girl Before by JP Delaney is one of the most masterful psychological thrillers since Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Like Gone Girl, The Girl Before features manipulative and deliberate characters who move through their lives and follow plans with intention. Both books are full of shocking twists, unreliable narrators, and manipulative story lines.

In The Girl Before, Jane has recently been approved to rent a spectacular house with an extreme set of rules. Before long, Jane discovers that the extraordinary house has an extraordinary history: The woman who lived there before Jane died in the home. When Jane discovers that she and the woman before bore striking similarities, she finds herself in embroiled in a mystery that could impact her future.

Read a full review of The Girl Before here.


Into the Woods by Tana French

 In the Woods: A Novel

&

Tana French has been called “the most interesting, most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years” by The Washington Post.

That’s because, with her debut novel, French has created a complex and chilling novel which follows a Dublin detective as he investigates a difficult crime involving a murdered 12-year-old girl found in the woods. The investigation is particularly difficult for the Dublin detective because, as a child 20 years before, he was a central figure in a shockingly similar murder investigation.

Into the Woods is one of the best-paced books and most intricate, well-plotted stories I’ve read in a long time.


Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet

 Save Yourself: A Novel

&

Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet combines two story lines: The first follows brothers Mike and Patrick, who are town pariah’s because their father killed someone while drunk driving. Mike’s girlfriend Caro has trust issues and plenty of problems of his own.

Soon, a goth teenager and her sister have joined the tribe of outcasts, and small events lead to an inevitable downfall of the entire group. The dark and complicated story brings a tension and suspense worthy of Gone Girl fans.


Cartwheel by Jennifer DuBois

 Cartwheel: A Novel (Random House Reader’s Circle)

&

Cartwheel by Jennifer DuBois tell the story of an American foreign exchange student, Lily, arrested for murder. In fact, the book has been called the fictional Amanda Knox story by some. The writing style of this DuBois has been compared to that of Emma Donoghue and Ann Pratchett, but the psychological component of the story is mirrored by only one book. Yup, you guessed it: Gone Girl.

The story is as suspenseful as it is divisive, and as the book unfolds, readers find themselves questioning who Lily really is and whether she could possibly be guilty of murdering her roommate. As the reader gets deeper into the story, she will find herself questioning her own moral compass. Cartwheel is a can’t miss if you’re looking for books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.


Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight

 Reconstructing Amelia: A Novel

&

Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight leads readers to believe that Kate’s daughter, Amelia, has jumped to her death from the top of her exclusive, all-girls private school. According to the school, Amelia was distraught after she was caught cheating on a test.

Kate doesn’t quite believe it though, and when she receives an anonymous text, her suspicions are all but confirmed. Kate sets out to discover what really happened to her daughter, and the reader is met with a story so surprising that she won’t be able to put it down.


The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

 The Silent Wife: A Novel

&

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison is much more like Gone Girl than some of the other books on this list. Not only is The Silent Wife a deep and dark psychological thriller, but it features a similar story line: A husband and wife are in a bad spot in their marriage, and unbeknownst to them, they are hurtling full speed toward a catastrophic event.

The husband is a serial cheater; the wife is a serial apologist. Little does he know, however, that she also is manic when it comes to settling the score, and she’s got nothing left to lose.


The Good Neighbor by A.J. Banner

 The Good Neighbor

&

The Good Neighbor by A.J. Banner drops the reader into the middle of a Stepford-wives-like subdivision with upstanding neighbors and a wonderful neighborhood. Only, it isn’t long before main character Sarah realizes that things are exactly how she expected, and soon a tragedy wrecks her world. As she begins to pick up the pieces of her broken life, Sarah comes to a realization that is simply too much for her to handle.


Have you read any of the books above? Which would you recommend to a friend looking for books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn? If you were going to recommend books like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, what would be on your list? Why?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment