11 Books to Read Before The Movie in 2017

Best 11 Books to Read Before the Movie in 2017

11 Books to Read Before The Movie in 2017I don’t know about you, but I always try to read the book before I see the movie. For me, there is just something special about being able to imagine the characters and the settings on my own without the interference of the on-screen images. I love it. I’ll forever be a book-before-the-movie girl.

Anyway, like the years before, 2017 is scheduled to be chock-full of movies made from powerful, fantastic books. Below, you’ll find a list of 11 books, all of which are scheduled to become movies in 2017. For the most part, these are books full of rich-vivid imagery, and I would definitely try to read them before the movies come out. The books are listed in order of release, so you can go straight down the list, if you so choose.

What about you? Are you a book-before-the-movie reader? Why or why not?

Happy reading!


Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shutterly

 Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race

&

Hidden Figures by Margo Lee Shutterly has already been released, but that doesn’t mean you can’t dig in before heading out to see the movie.

Hidden Figures tells the story of three African-American women mathematicians working at NASA in the 1960s. Together, the three women worked to help launch John Glenn into orbit.

The firm version, which was released on Jan. 6, features Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer and Janelle Monáe. The book version of Hidden Figures was released in September of 2016.


Live by Night by Dennis Lehane

 Live by Night: A Novel

&

Set in 1926, Live by Night by Dennis Lehane is a fictional prodigal son-type story which includes mobsters, speakeasies and plenty of organized crime. Joe Coughlin is the son of a Boston police officer, but that doesn’t stop him from getting deeply involved in the life of organized crime. After he spends time in the penitentiary, though, Joe decides he’s ready to settle down and live a simpler life. Unfortunately for Joe, he can’t escape the crime life.

The film version of Live by Night was directed by Ben Affleck and released on January 13. Affleck, Zoe Saldana, Elle Fanning and Sienna Miller star in the movie.


Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

 Fifty Shades Darker

&

No one is going to pretend that Fifty Shades Darker is the next great piece of literature, however, the Fifty Shades of Grey book series by E.L James DOES have a large following. If you’re part of this contingent, you might want to hurry up and read (or re-read) Fifty Shades Darker before it is released in theaters on February 10.

Fifty Shades Darker was published in 2012 and is the second book in James’ erotic romance series featuring Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey. The series is said to be a Twilight fan fic.

The movie stars Jamie Doman and Dakota Johnson.


Tulip Fever by Deborah Moggach

 Tulip Fever: A Novel

&

Tulip Fever by Deborah Moggach is a historical fiction set in Amsterdam in 1630. The story follows a married woman carrying on an affair with an artist.

While the woman’s husband hopes and dreams of an heir, his wife is making other plans. Together, the woman and the artist decide to invest in the tulip market in an effort to raise money to start their new lives together.

The film, which is set to be released on February 24, stars Judi Dench, Zack Galifianakis and Cara Delevigne.


The Shack by William Paul Young

 The Shack: Where Tragedy Confronts Eternity

&

The Shack by William Paul Young was really popular several years ago, and it’s sure to be a movie filled with deep, introspective thought. The movie is based on the story of a grieving father who is invited to meet God at a shack in the woods. Despite his crisis of faith, the father is able to recognize irrefutable universal truths through his discussions with God.

The film, which is set to be released on March 3, stars Octavia Spencer, Graham Greene and Sam Worthington. The book version of The Shack was released in 2007 and sold more than 10 million copies.


Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

 Before I Fall Enhanced Edition

&

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver tells the captivating story of a young woman who passes away, yet continues to wake up every morning. Each time she wakes up, Samantha lives the same day again—the last day of her life.

Before long, Samantha, who has nothing to lose, is able to solve the mystery of her death. The book was released in 2010.

The film version of Before I Fall premiered at the Sundance Film Festival on January 21. It is set to be released in theaters on March 3.


The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

 The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story

&

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman tells the real-life story of Polish zookeepers after their zoo was bombed during World War II.

Following the bombing, the zookeeper and his wife were able to save more than 300 from the Nazi’s by hiding them in animal cages. This non-fiction book was released in 2008.

The film version of The Zookeeper’s Wife is scheduled to be released on March 31. The movie stars Jessica Chastain.


Wonder by R. J. Palacio

 Wonder

&

Wonder by R.J. Palacio tells the story of a boy who, living with a facial deformity, is attending school with his peers for the first time as a fifth grader. The book, which is told from several different perspectives, shares feelings of optimism and hope as one boy struggles against his would-be bullies. Wonder is the only children’s book on this list. It’s geared for students in third through seventh grades.

The film adaptation of Wonder is scheduled to be released on April 7. The movie stars Julia Roberts, Jacob Tremblay and Owen Wilson.


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

 Everything, Everything

&

Told in the first person through diary entries, Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is a deeply personal and emotional story about a girl who is literally allergic to the outside world. But when Olly moves in next door to Maddy, the shut-in teenager begins to question whether her life of safety will every be enough. It’s a young adult novel in the vein of The Fault In Our Stars or Eleanor and Park.

The film version is scheduled to be released on May 19 and stars Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson.

If you like Everything, Everything, consider checking out this list of
six books like Everything, Everything.

&


The Mountain Between Us by Charles Martin

 The Mountain Between Us: A Novel

&

If you want to read The Mountain Between us by Charles Martin, you’ve got a little bit more time. The film for this book doesn’t come out until October 30, but still, you don’t want to wait that long to read it!

The Mountain Between Us tells the story of a man and a woman struggling to survive in the mountain winter in the wake of a plane crash. The book reveals much about human nature and the will to survive.

The film adaptation of this book will star Kate Winslet and Idris Elba.

&


The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

 The Glass Castle: A Memoir

&

It’s about time that they turned The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls into a movie! This book was extremely popular during my middle school years (read: a long time ago), and I’m surprised it wasn’t turned into a movie before this.

The Glass Castle tells the true story of the author’s upbringing, which can be described as unique and dysfunctional. Living in poverty, Walls and her siblings endure hardship and an unconventional lifestyle at the hands of their parents. The book, which was published in 2007, spent 261 weeks on the best sellers list.

The movie adaptation, which is scheduled to be released in 2017 but does not appear to have an exact date, stars Brie Larson, Naomi Watts and Woody Harrelson.

&

No Comments

Leave a Comment