Books Like All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

9 Books Like All The Bright Places By Jennifer Niven

Books Like All The Bright Places by Jennifer NivenIn some ways, books like All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven are difficult to come by. For me, it’s not often that I come across a book that moves me so, so deeply. All the Bright Places was one such book.

In fact, I’m conflicted when writing this list. For me, recommending books like All the Bright Places is difficult. On one hand, this is one of my absolute favorite books of all time, and I want everyone to read it and find other books like it. On the other hand, it’s a struggle for me to come up with books that are similar to All the Bright Places, because frankly, very few books are on par with this one.

In the end, my desire to have everyone read this book and share my love of reading won out, and I’ve compiled this extensive list of nine books like All the Bright Places. I hope you enjoy some of these as much as I did!

Happy Reading!

Haven’t read All The Bright Places? Grab your copy on Amazon!


Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

Your Voice Is All I HearYour Voice Is All I Hear

Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier features the deep love between April and Jonah, but as is the case with All the Bright Places, Your Voice Is All I Hear also prominently features a deep, dark depression. As April begins to try to rescue Jonah from his deep depression and his traumatic past, April realizes that she has a serious decision to make. If she saves Jonah, she risks destroying the life she’s built for herself, but if she doesn’t, April risks losing the boyfriend she loves.


The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

The Beginning of EverythingThe Beginning of Everything

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider tells the story of Ezra Faulkner as he goes through a series of dramatic life changes. The biggest change comes when his leg is shattered in a car accident. That, combined with the fact that Ezra’s girlfriend cheated on him, makes for a difficult time for Ezra. Nevertheless, Ezra manages to come out of the tough time in this fresh coming-of-age story, and even though he wasn’t elected homecoming king, Ezra discovers something more important: a new love.


Crank by Ellen Hopkins

CrankCrank

Crank by Ellen Hopkins follows Kristina as she struggles with her substance addiction. Before she started doing meth, Kristina was a gifted, wallflower of a high school junior. After she starts doing crank, Kristina begins to experience life changes she’d never expected. Soon, Kristina has developed an alter ego named Bree who is willing to do things Kristina never would have done without the drug.

The story is a semi-autobiographical account of author Ellen Hopkin’s daughter’s experience with the drug. It is the first in a series of three books about the topic.


Tin Lily by Joann Swanson

Tin LilyTin Lily

Tin Lily by Joann Swanson tells one of the most intense stories I’ve ever read. In this book, Lily is staring down the barrel of a gun held by her alcoholic father, who has already murdered her mother. Fortunately for Lily, her father’s gun is out of bullets.

But surviving the harrowing attack doesn’t mean Lily is truly alive. In fact, Lily has all but quit living her life when she moves to Seattle and meets the perfect boy. But Lily has never truly worked through her problems, and if she doesn’t take care of her mental health, her past—and her father—could catch up with her sooner than she expects.


Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Holding Up the UniverseHolding Up the Universe

With Holding Up The Universe, Jennifer Niven brings together to unique characters who, under different circumstances, might have nothing in common. In this particular story, Niven matches up Libby, dubbed “The Fattest Teen In America” and Jack, an incredibly popular boy at Libby’s high school. Jack and Libby are thrown together in detention after Jack grabs Libby in what he and his friends call the “Fat Girl Rodeo.”

Jack knows what he’s done is wrong—he even writes a letter to Libby apologizing beforehand. And for some reason, despite Jack’s despicable behavior, Libby forgives Jack, and she finds out secrets about Jack—and about herself—in the process.

When it comes to books like All The Bright Places, Holding Up The Universe isn’t quite as powerful as Niven’s debut novel, but Holding Up The Universe is an entertaining, enlightening, and engaging story, and it’s definitely worth the read.

Want to know more about Holding Up The Universe? Here’s a more in-depth review.


Love and Other Unknown Variables
by Shannon Lee Alexander

Love and Other Unknown VariablesLove and Other Unknown Variables

Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander tells the story of Charlie Hanson and the girl with the neck tattoo. Charlie has his whole life planned out, but when he meets Charlotte Finch, his world is turned upside down.

Charlotte doesn’t fit into Charlie’s MIT future, but that doesn’t stop him from orchestrating a great prank at his school at her urging. The prank could put Charlie’s carefully-crafted future in danger, but by the time Charlie realizes what’s happening, he’s in too deep. When he discovers that his new love is gravely ill, he realizes that he has to make a decision: save the world, or save Charlotte?


Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkEleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell is one of those books like All The Bright Places because it’s both witty and emotional. Like Jennifer Niven, Rainbow Rowell has the ability to write engaging and entertaining prose that keeps the reader captivated until the very last page.

In Eleanor & Park, Rowell pairs up two unlikely characters: quiet and reserved Park with troubled Eleanor, who happens to be the new girl in town. While Eleanor struggles to fit Park into her controlled life, Park works hard to help Eleanor gain the freedom she needs to move forward in life. It’s a fun book written in Rowell’s trademark funny and creative style.


It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It's Kind of a Funny StoryIt’s Kind of a Funny Story

In It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini, Craig Gilner is certain that living a perfect life means going to the perfect school so that, eventually, he can get a perfect job. Only, when he gets into the perfect school, Craig realizes he isn’t quite as prepared for the perfect life as he had expected. In fact, Craig finds out that he isn’t even extraordinary among his high school peers, and he soon falls into a deep depression.

After Craig attempts to commit suicide, the high school student is admitted to a mental institution, where he begins to pick up the pieces and rebuild his life—this time with different expectations.


An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

An Abundance of KatherinesAn Abundance of Katherines

Perhaps The Fault In Our Stars would be a more obvious choice when it comes to books like All the Bright Places, but frankly, I enjoyed An Abundance of Katherines quite a bit more. In this book, John Green’s writing style shines through in spectacular fashion, and the reader is left feeling both happy and fulfilled.

An Abundance of Katherines tells the story of Colin Singleton, a high school student who, for some unknown reason, only dates girls named Katherine. And 19 times, Colin has been dumped by girls named Katherine. When Colin sets off on a quirky road trip with his best friend, the last thing he’s expecting to find is a girl to fall for. Is her name Katherine? You’ll have to read it to find out!


Have you read any books like All The Bright Places that you believe belong on this list? Of all the books like All The Bright Places you’ve read, which is your favorite? Why?

No Comments

Leave a Comment